Daring Baker Challenge: Milk Chocolate & Caramel Tart

Yes, I am now officially a member of the Daring Bakers (at least I think I am). My first challenge, to create an exquisite Milk Chocolate & Caramel Tart (pictured below). I hope any of you who visit my site, will take up the challenge yourselves as well and try making this delectable tart.

whole pie

Here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Shortbread Pastry (re-scaled for single recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 84 grams unsalted butter
  • 51 grams confectioners’ sugar
  • 18 grams ground hazelnuts
  • 2 grams ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 135 grams cake flour
  • 3 grams baking powder
  • 3 grams cocoa powder

1. In a mixing bowl of a food processor, cream the butter.

2. Add the confectioners’ sugar, the ground hazelnuts, and the cinnamon, and mix together

3. Add the eggs, one by one, mixing constantly

4. Sift in the flour, the baking powder, and the cocoa powder, and mix well.

5. Form a ball with the dough, cover in plastic wrap, and chill overnight (pictured below).

ball

Milk Chocolate and Caramel Tart

Ingredients:

  • ½ lb (250 g) chocolate shortbread pastry (see recipe above)
  • 1 ½ cups (300 g) granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (250 g) heavy cream or crème fraiche
  • ¼ cup butter
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 ½ tablespoons (15 g) flour
  • 1 ¼ cups (300 g) whipping cream
  • ½ lb (250 g) milk chocolate

1. Preheat oven to 325 °F.

2. Line the baking pan with the chocolate shortbread pastry and bake blind for 15 minutes. The instructions don’t call for docking, but I docked mine just to be on the safe side.

3. In a saucepan, caramelize 1 cup (200 g) granulated sugar using the dry method until it turns a golden caramel color. I tend to want to push the caramel to the limit, since I want a bittersweet flavor, hence the darker color. Incorporate the heavy cream or crème fraiche and then add butter. Mix thoroughly. Set aside to cool.

4. In a mixing bowl, beat the whole eggs with the extra egg yolk, then incorporate the flour.

5. Pour this into the cream-caramel mixture and mix thoroughly.

6. Spread it out in the tart shell and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

7. Prepare the milk chocolate mousse: beat the whipping cream until stiff. Melt the milk chocolate in the microwave or in a bain-marie, and fold it gently into the whipped cream.

8. Pour the chocolate mousse over the cooled caramel mixture, smoothing it with a spatula. Chill for one hour in the refrigerator.

So that’s it for this month’s challenge. I must admit, the resulting product was quite good, and I had a fun time baking. The pictures posted above are the ones I took on my first attempt. I figured it wouldn’t be right to post pictures from my third attempt. Also, I opted not to do toppings on my first attempt, as I wanted to taste it sans toppings. Here’s a last picture of a slice of the tart…

slice

Sorry for the sub par pictures… hehehe… I’m still waiting for my digital camera, and I’m currently using my video cam to take pictures. I’m not really sure what else to write, so see you again for next month’s challenge.

30 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa said,

    Way to go, Gerald! Your tart is lovely and VERY yummy looking!

    xoxo

  2. 2

    Anne said,

    No need for long post…your tart is more than enough to satisfy us 😉 I’m glad you’re now part of the group 🙂 welcome!

  3. 3

    kellypea said,

    Congrats on your first DB challenge — and I would TOTALLY post whatever photos you
    have. It would be interesting to see the outcome of all of them. If I had the patience to make our challenges more than once (kudos to you…) then I’d include the drama of it
    all!

  4. 4

    veron said,

    Such a delectable looking tart and congrats on completing your first challenge!

  5. 5

    I’m so glad to hear you liked making the challenge, Ge!
    Your tart looks supreme!

  6. 6

    Dagmar said,

    Congratulations on your first challenge! It looks great!

  7. 7

    Cusinero Ge said,

    Thanks for all your comments and encouragement.

    – kellypea: I’ll be sure to post more pictures on our next challenge then.

  8. 8

    Pille said,

    I would have wanted to see photos from all three attempts, too! You’re impressive – I only made the cake once (there was room for improvements, but I simply didn’t have time for that) 🙂

  9. 9

    Mary said,

    You really went above and beyond by doing it 3 times! Glad that you were able to join us for our baking excursions.

  10. 10

    Ivonne said,

    Gerald,

    Congratulations on completing your first Daring Baker challenge! You did a great job!

  11. 11

    Tartelette said,

    Congrats on your first challenge! Great job indeed!

  12. 12

    welcom to the daring baker’s group! congrats in finishing your first challenge!

  13. 13

    brilynn said,

    Well done on your first challenge!

  14. 14

    Amanda said,

    Well done on your first challenge Gerald, it looks great!

  15. 15

    Belinda said,

    Yet another extraordinary Daring Bakers creation! All of the tarts from this month’s challenge look beautiful…and I bet are absolutely delicious as well. 🙂 Great job!

  16. 16

    Sara said,

    Your caramel is so dark…very pretty.

  17. 17

    Jenny said,

    I agree – you should post photos from whatever you want. I like to see the progression when people try it again or try something different. That’s me though. 😉

  18. 18

    peabody said,

    Great job on your first DB challenge.

  19. 19

    Aoife said,

    You made it three times? I’d like to see how each attempt changed. The first one looks pretty good!

  20. 20

    Elle said,

    That first tart slice is yummy looking…bet they were all good. Glad that you are a daring baker, too.

  21. 21

    Jen said,

    You’re tart looks wonderful! Great job 😀

  22. 22

    Tanna said,

    Hey Welcome Gerald! You did a beautiful first challenge. The tart was tasty!

  23. 23

    Amy said,

    Congrats on your first challenge! It looks great!

  24. 24

    heather said,

    welcome to the group. Your tarts looks yummy!

  25. 25

    Wendy said,

    Your tart looks great. The caramel looked both solid with just a bit of oozy goodness. Wendy

  26. 26

    Andrea said,

    Congrats Gerald! Your tart looks delicious.

  27. 27

    Dolores said,

    Your fork-smothered photograph tells a story all its own… yum! Congratulations and welcome to the party! 🙂

  28. 28

    breadchick said,

    Great job on your first challenge. It looks lovely.

  29. 29

    Bastich said,

    Congrats Ge! Penge.

  30. 30

    DaviMack said,

    Gerald,

    Missed you in this month’s challenge for the Daring Bakers, and also note that you’re not publishing a feed. Don’t know if that’s on purpose or what, but thought you should know.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment